Get Information on Information Security Training Courses

Request Information

rss feed

Instructor-Led CISSP Training Classes

The Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) program is arguably one of the most valuable security certifications currently available. The certification is offered by the International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium (ISC2) a global, non-profit organization headquartered in Vienna, Va. CISSP was the first security certification to be formally recognized by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) and by the International Organization for Standardization. CISSP has also been formally recognized as a standard by the U.S. Department of Defense and the National Security Agency. Currently, an estimated 68,000 IT professionals around the world are thought to have been certified to the CISSP standard.

Much of CISSP’s popularity and acceptance as a global security standard stems from the rigor attached to its certification process. In order to qualify for the credential, individuals need to have at least five years of IT experience in two or more specific security domains. The qualifying domains include access control, business continuity and disaster recovery, application development security, cryptography, operations security and security governance and risk management. Those interested in pursuing a CISSP credential need to have demonstrable experience in at least any two of these domains in order to qualify. Those without the requisite work experience can still take the CISSP test but will only earn an Associate of ISC2 credential by passing it. Those who acquire the CISSP certification are required to earn a minimum number of 20 Continuing Professional Education credits each year to keep their credential in good standing. Those who fail to acquire the minimum required CPE credits will be required to retake the test after three years. CISSP holders are also required to pay an annual maintenance fee of around $85 to keep their credentials in good standing.

The CISSP certification is designed for professionals who are involved in enterprise IT security policy and procedure development. Those who acquire the certification often are considered as having demonstrable expertise in many areas of information security, both on the operational side and on the policy management side. CISSP examinations are typically of 6 hours duration and cost $549 for early registrants and $599 for standard registrations. There is no formal passing grade.

Online CISSP Training, for Free

Coming in January, 2015, @CybraryIT will be revolutionizing CISSP training.